KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Changing a Document's Status to "Deleted"

NeedAdminPermissions.png

Sometimes you may want to delete a document that is no longer necessary or that was created in error. Before moving forward, please consider the document retention policies of your KB Group and that of your institution.

    What Happens When I Delete a Document?

    When you "Delete" a document, the status of that document changes from whatever status it is in

    Example of status that a document may be in.

    • Active
    • In Review
    • In Progress
    • Inactive

    to that of Deleted and will be moved to the Trash queue.

    The image below shows the document ,"How to View a Solar Eclipse", is in the Trash queue with the status of Deleted.

    Deleting an Active Document

    1. Open the KB Admin Tools and locate your Active document.

    2. Update the document Status to one of of these statuses:

      • In Review
      • In Progress
      • Inactive

      The Delete button is not available on a document with the status of Active. The Delete button can only be found if the document has one of the above 3 statuses.

      The image below demonstrates that Document 60818, when viewed while in the status of Active has no Delete button on which to click. However, when the exact same document is changed to the status of In Review, the Delete button appears.



    3. Click on the title of the document, which is hotlinked. This will expose the Delete button.

      The image below shows that the document to be deleted is in the In Progress queue.



    4. Click the Delete button on the far right.



    5. Click OK in the popup box to confirm that this document should be deleted

      pop up alerting that you are deleting document

    The deleted document will no longer be visible in the KB live site. It will only be available in the KB Admin Tools in the Trash queue. If the document needs to be restored at a later time, only someone with Publish rights will be able to do so. See KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Restoring a deleted document for more information about restoring deleted KB documents.

    Deleting a Document that is either In Review, In Progress or Inactive Queue

    1. Open the KB Admin Tools and locate your document.

    2. Click on the title of the document, which is hotlinked. This will expose the Delete button.

      The image below shows that the document to be deleted is in the In Progress queue.


    3. Click the Delete button on the far right.


    4. Click OK in the popup box to confirm that this document should be deleted
    5. pop up alerting that you are deleting document

    The deleted document will no longer be visible in the KB live site. It will only be available in the KB Admin Tools in the Trash queue. If the document needs to be restored at a later time, only someone with Publish rights will be able to do so. See KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Restoring a deleted document for more information about restoring deleted KB documents.

    See Also:




    Keywords:kb user's guide user instructions delete deleting documents remove inactive trash removing inactivate deactivate   Doc ID:5724
    Owner:Teresa A.Group:KB User's Guide
    Created:2007-04-10 19:00 CDTUpdated:2017-09-19 11:09 CDT
    Sites:KB Demo, KB Demo - Child Demo, KB User's Guide
    Feedback:  4   0